Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE)

Red Hat's training and certification program is celebrating its 15th anniversary in 2014. The program is a way for Red Hat Linux professionals to earn proof of their skills and knowledge. Red Hat offers numerous certifications, one of which is the Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) designation. The RHCE certification is an accreditation for Linux system administrators looking to earn industry recognition.

Overview of RHCE Certification

The RHCE is aimed at Linux system administrators who have hands-on experience configuring and administrating networks that run Red Hat Enterprise Linux. Here are some tasks that certified engineers typically perform:

  • Configure system logging.
  • Create reports on system utilization.
  • Configure an Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI) initiator.
  • Configure packet filtering, static routes and network address translation (NAT).
  • Utilize shell scripts to automate system maintenance tasks.
  • Set kernel runtime parameters.
  • Configure common networking services, including HTTP/HTTPS, File Transfer Protocol (FTP) and others.

Before earning the RHCE certification, candidates must earn the Red Hat Certified System Administrator (RHCSA) designation. Technically, the RHCE exam can be taken before the RHCSA exam, but the RHCE will not be awarded by Red Hat until the candidate has earned their RHCSA certification.

For more general information about the RHCE, visit the RHCE page on the Red Hat website.

RHCE Certification Exam Details

Candidates can book their exam via Red Hat Certification and take it in one of many authorized centers. Exams, or "Individual Exam Sessions," as Red Hat calls them, are offered across North America, Europe and Asia Pacific. Candidates can request further information on Individual Exam Sessions locations from Red Hat Certification.

Individuals must pass the RHCE exam (exam number: EX300) to earn the RHCE. The exam is comprised of a number of performance-based questions, which require candidates to complete hands-on tasks in a simulated networking environment. Exam takers have two hours to complete the RHCE exam.

Exam objectives can be broken down into the following major categories:

  • Understanding and Using Essential Tools
  • Operating Running Systems
  • Configuring Local Storage
  • Creating and Configuring File Systems
  • Deploying, Configuring and Maintaining Systems
  • Managing Users and Groups
  • Managing Security

For more detailed information about exam objectives, visit the RHCE Exam page on the Red Hat website.

Candidates may not bring any external materials into the examination room. However, the documentation shipped with Red Hat Enterprise Linux is available during the exam.

Exam results are sent to candidates by Red Hat Certification within three U.S. business days.

Renewing the RHCE Certification

The RHCE certification is valid for three years. Professionals must retake the exam in order to renew their certification. Alternatively, if an RHCE owner goes on to earn a Red Hat Certificate of Expertise (these are individual Red Hat designations based on different job roles and product specializations), the RHCE certification period is extended for three years from when the person earns the Certificate of Expertise.

By earning an RHCE designation, certification holders can help validate their expertise to potential employers and expand their professional network through various RHCP online communities.


Exam objectives - RHCE, Red Hat, http://www.redhat.com/training/courses/ex300/examobjective

Recertification policies, Red Hat, http://www.redhat.com/training/certifications/recertification.html

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE) Exam (EX300), Red Hat, http://www.redhat.com/training/courses/ex300/

Red Hat Certified Engineer, Red Hat, http://www.redhat.com/training/certifications/rhce/

Red Hat Certified Engineer (RHCE)

Ready to Advance your Career
Enroll Now