(ISC)2 Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFP)

(ISC)2, or International Information Systems Security Certification Consortium, is a multinational group of IT experts that offers vendor-neutral education and certification in information systems security. The (ISC)2 certification program is based on the group’s framework, the Common Body of Knowledge (CBK). One of (ISC)2‘s newest certifications is the Certified Cyber Forensics Professional (CCFP).

Overview of CCFP Certification

The CCFP certification was launched in 2013 and targets information technology and information systems professionals who analyze hardware and software in order to discover and capture evidence for a criminal or private investigation. Computer forensics specialists often work for law enforcement organizations, corporate security departments or private consulting firms.

The CCFP certification is based on the following knowledge domains from the (ISC)2 Common Body of Knowledge:

  • Legal and Ethical Principles
  • Investigations
  • Forensic Science
  • Digital Forensics
  • Application Forensics
  • Hybrid and Emerging Technologies

To receive this certification, candidates must fulfill the following program requirements:

  • Pass the CCFP certification exam.
  • Have a bachelor’s degree (or country-specific equivalent). Candidates without the university degree must have six years of appropriate work experience.
  • Have three years of full-time digital forensics or IT security work experience that involves at least three of the CCFP knowledge domains.

After passing the CCFP certification exam, candidates must get their application endorsed by an existing (ISC)2 member. (ISC)2 offers options to candidates who are not associated with a current member.

CCFP Certification Exam Details

The CCFP exam consists of 125 multiple-choice questions, and candidates have four hours in which to finish the exam. Exam scoring is based on a sliding scale from 0-1000; candidates must earn a score of 700 or higher to pass. The exam is based on the same six CCFP knowledge domains, listed above, from the (ISC)2 Common Body of Knowledge.

There is no penalty for wrong answers, so exam takers should try to answer every question on the CCFP exam. Candidates who fail the exam on their first or second attempt must wait at least 90 days before retaking it.

Individuals can take the CCFP certification test at a Pearson Vue testing center.

Renewing the CCFP Certification

The CCFP certification is valid for three years from the day the (ISC)2 awards it. To maintain their certification, CCFP owners must earn Continuing Professional Education (CPE) credits. The (ISC)2 provides newly certified individuals with details of which activities count towards CPE credits.

Examples of certification renewal requirements:

  • Earn 90 CPE credits during each three-year certification period, with a minimum of 15 CPE credits per year.
  • Agree to comply with the (ISC)2 Code of Ethics.
  • Pay the (ISC)2 Annual Maintenance Fee.

According to (ISC)2, after becoming CCFP-certified, not only can individuals in forensic technology reinforce their recognized status as an advanced cyber forensics professional, but they may also have the opportunity to conduct international forensics investigations and even to enhance their job opportunities.


CCFPSM — Certified Cyber Forensics Professional, (ISC)2, https://www.isc2.org/CCFP/default.aspx

CCFPSM Domains, (ISC)2, https://www.isc2.org/CCFP-domains/default.aspx

CCFPSM — Why Certify?, (ISC)2, https://www.isc2.org/CCFP-why-certify/default.aspx

How to Get Your CCFP Certification, (ISC)2, https://www.isc2.org/CCFP-how-to-certify/default.aspx

Our Partner Listings