ISACA - Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT)

The Information Systems Audit and Control Association (ISACA) offers IT professionals a global community where members can exchange information, share knowledge, and build peer relationships with colleagues. ISACA has also created a training and certification program geared towards information systems professionals looking to gain accreditation based on their industry experience and skills.

One ISACA certification designates individuals as Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT).

Overview of CGEIT Certification

The CGEIT certification was launched in 2007 and targets high-level professionals who provide IT system governance and assurance services. The certification is based on the following five focus areas:

  • Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT
  • Strategic Management
  • Benefits Realization
  • Risk Optimization
  • Resource Optimization

To be awarded the CGEIT certification, candidates must meet the following requirements:

  • Pass the CGEIT certification exam.
  • Have five years of documented work experience in IT/IS governance, IT/IS management, or a combination of the two.
  • Agree to follow the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics and the CGEIT Continuing Education Policy.

Candidates can gain the required work experience after passing the certification exam. However, the CGEIT certificate will not be awarded by ISACA until the work experience requirement is met.

Candidates who have two years of full-time experience as a university professor of IT/IS governance-related subjects can count that experience as one year of eligible professional experience.

CGEIT Certification Exam Details

The CGEIT certification exam is only available twice per calendar year, usually in June and December. Individuals can register for the exam via the ISACA website or by submitting a hard copy form.

The exam consists of 150 multiple-choice questions, which test-takers have four hours to complete. The exam content is based on the five CGEIT focus areas listed above. Here is that list again, with an estimate of how much exam content is dedicated to each area:

  • Framework for the Governance of Enterprise IT (25%)
  • Strategic Management (20%)
  • Benefits Realization (16%)
  • Risk Optimization (24%)
  • Resource Optimization (15%)

The CGEIT exam is scored on a scale of 200 to 800, and candidates must earn a 450 or higher to pass. Candidates typically receive exam results within about five weeks after taking the exam.

Renewing the CGEIT Certification

ISACA's CGEIT certification is valid for three years after it is awarded. Within those three years, individuals must fulfill certain requirements in order to maintain their certification status. Some of these requirements are listed below:

  • Earn 120 Continuing Professional Education (CPE) hours during each three-year certification period, with at least 20 CPE hours per year.
  • Pay the annual certification maintenance fee.
  • Continue to comply with the ISACA Code of Professional Ethics throughout the certification period.

After becoming certified, technology professionals not only can receive validation of their expertise in IT governance, but they may also gain a competitive advantage in the job market.


Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (GCEIT), ISACA, http://www.isaca.org/CERTIFICATION/CGEIT-CERTIFIED-IN-THE-GOVERNANCE-OF-ENTERPRISE-IT/Pages/default.aspx

CGEIT Exam Job Practice: 2013, ISACA, http://www.isaca.org/Certification/CGEIT-Certified-in-the-Governance-of-Enterprise-IT/Job-Practice-Areas/Pages/default.aspx

Maintain Your CGEIT, ISACA, http://www.isaca.org/Certification/CGEIT-Certified-in-the-Governance-of-Enterprise-IT/Pages/Maintain-Your-CGEIT.aspx

Prepare for the CGEIT Exam, ISACA, http://www.isaca.org/Certification/CGEIT-Certified-in-the-Governance-of-Enterprise-IT/Prepare-for-the-Exam/Pages/default.aspx

The Benefits of CGEIT, ISACA, http://www.isaca.org/Certification/CGEIT-Certified-in-the-Governance-of-Enterprise-IT/What-is-CGEIT/Pages/default.aspx

ISACA - Certified in the Governance of Enterprise IT (CGEIT)

Ready to Advance your Career
Enroll Now